Classical for Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

From the Archives - Beethoven's Piano Concerti: Act II

Ludwig van Beethoven
Ludwig van Beethoven

While published second, this is the first mature piano concerto Beethoven wrote. It was also his first large-scale orchestral work. It’s a work full of youthful exuberance that also has the stamp of originality and genius. We’ll explore it through two performances with a common thread.

Compositions and Recordings

Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat Major
by Ludwig van Beethoven
George Szell and the Cleveland Orchestra; Leon Fleisher - piano

Piano Concerto No. 2: Mvt. I, II
by Ludwig van Beethoven
Vladimir Ashkenazy and the Cleveland Orchestra

Frank Byrne is the host of From the Archives on 91.9 Classical KC.
Brooke Knoll is the digital audience specialist and afternoon host for Classical KC. You can reach her at