Classical for Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

From The Archives - Brahms Transformed

This week we have two marvelous works by Johannes Brahms not originally composed for orchestra. But when reimagined for a full symphony orchestra, they are even more glorious. One was transformed by Brahms himself, and the other by composer Bright Sheng. With the resources and colors of a full symphony orchestra, we hear Brahms at his most magnificent.

Compositions and Recordings

Procession of the Nobles
by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Erich Kunzel and The Cincinnati Pops Orchestra

Serenade No. 1 in D Major
by Johannes Brahms
Jiri Belohlavek and The Czech Philharmonic

The Black Swan after Brahms Op.118 No.2
by Bright Sheng
Gerard Schwarz and The Seattle Symphony

Frank Byrne is the host of From the Archives on 91.9 Classical KC.
Sam Wisman is a Senior Producer for 91.9 Classical KC and a backup announcer for KCUR 89.3. Email him at