Classical for Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

From The Archives - Musical Contemporaries

Composer Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges
Mather Brown
Composer Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges

This week’s show features two lovely works for solo instruments by Joseph Bologne and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart — contemporaries who could not have come from more different backgrounds. We will explore the unconventional and remarkable background of Bologne, who never achieved the fame he deserved.

Compositions and Recordings

Procession of the Nobles by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Erich Kunzel and The Cincinnati Pops Orchestra

Clarinet Quintet K.581
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
The Pascal Quartet
Peter Simenauer, clarinet

Violin Concerto in D Major
by Joseph Bologne - Chevalier de Saint-Georges
Jeanne Lamon and Tafelmusik Orchestra
Linda Melsted, violin

You can learn more about Joseph Bologne from NPR member station WBUR.

Frank Byrne is the host of From the Archives on 91.9 Classical KC.
Sam Wisman is a Senior Producer for 91.9 Classical KC and a backup announcer for KCUR 89.3. Email him at