Classical for Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

From The Archives - Surprise Symphonies

Composer Ernest Chausson
Composer Ernest Chausson

In an episode called “Surprise Symphonies” we have a Haydn symphony, but not the one you might expect, plus the one and only symphony by French composer Ernest Chausson. These works are two symphonies in B-flat, by two composers who were both 35 years old at the time.

Compositions and Recordings

Procession of the Nobles, by Nikolai Rimsky Korsakov
Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra

Symphony No. 35 in B-flat major, by Franz Josef Haydn
Antal Dorati and Philharmonia Hungarica

Symphony in B-flat, by Ernest Chausson
Yan Pascal Tortelier and The BBC Philharmonic

Frank Byrne is the host of From the Archives on 91.9 Classical KC.
Sam Wisman is a Senior Producer for 91.9 Classical KC and a backup announcer for KCUR 89.3. Email him at