Classical for Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

George Szell: Episode I

Maestro George Szell (1897-1970).
Frank Byrne
George Szell.

In this first episode of "From the Archives," host Frank Byrne introduces us to some of the wonderful recordings of one of the 20th centuries greatest talents: pianist, composer and conductor George Szell.

Compositions and Recordings

Allegretto from Piano Quartet in E Flat Major, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Pianist George Szell and the Budapest String Quartet

Piano Quintet in E Major, Op. 2, George Szell
Pianist Ann Eperson and the Cavani String Quartet

Lyric Overture, Op. 5, George Szell
Louis Lang, Cleveland Institute of Music Orchestra

Lyric Overture, Op. 5, Richard Strauss
Louis Lang, Cleveland

Oberon Overture (excerpt), Carl Maria Von Weber
George Szell, The Berlin State Opera Orchestra

Second movement from Cello Concerto, Antonín Dvořák
Cellist Pablo Casals, George Szell, The Czech Philharmonic

Entrance of the Guests from Tannhäuser (excerpt), Richard Wagner
George Szell, The Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus

Overture to The Bartered Bride, Bedřich Smetana
George Szell, The Cleveland Orchestra

Frank Byrne is the host of From the Archives on 91.9 Classical KC.
Leah Sosland is an intern for 91.9 Classical KC.