Classical for Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

From the Archives - Bach and Brahms transformed

Composer Arnold Schoenberg
Richard Gerstl (1906)
digitalisiert von Birgit und Peter Kainz, Wien Museum
Composer Arnold Schoenberg.

It may surprise you that 12-tone composer Arnold Schoenberg had a deep connection to and love of the music of Bach and Brahms. We’ll hear two of his transcriptions that transform the originals into glorious works for full orchestra.

Compositions and Recordings

Prelude and Fugue in E-flat BWV 552
by J.S. Bach; arranged Schoenberg
Seiji Ozawa and the Boston Symphony Orchestra

Piano Quartet in G minor Op. 25
by Johannes Brahms; arranged Schoenberg
Robert Craft and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Frank Byrne is the host of From the Archives on 91.9 Classical KC.
Brooke Knoll is the digital audience specialist and afternoon host for Classical KC. You can reach her at