Classical for Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

From the Archives - Violin sonatas A to B

Michael Haydn (left) and Joseph Haydn (right).
Michael Haydn (left) and Joseph Haydn (right).

While they’re known as violin sonatas, these masterworks are an equal partnership between the piano and violin. We’ll hear superb examples in two contrasting sonatas by Hugo Alfven and Ludwig van Beethoven.

Compositions and Recordings

Sonata for Violin and Piano Op. 1
by Hugo Alfven
Mircea Saulesco, violin; Janos Solyom, piano

Violin Sonata No. 7 in C minor
by Ludwig van Beethoven
Anne-Sophie Mutter, violin; Lambert Orkis, piano

Frank Byrne is the host of From the Archives on 91.9 Classical KC.
Brooke Knoll is the digital audience specialist and afternoon host for Classical KC. You can reach her at